Our Team

All410 Campus TeamPastoral TeamStone Oak Campus TeamAdministrative TeamStudent MinistryChildren's Ministry

Senior Pastor

Roger Poupart

Email: RogerP@waysidechapel.org
Phone: 210.318.2254

Roger was born and raised in Dallas, TX before he attended the University of Texas at Austin where he earned his BA in Psychology and also met his future wife, Kim. Kim was born in New Jersey, but moved to Plano, TX in middle school. Roger and Kim had their honeymoon in San Antonio over 30 years ago, and after 12 years of infertility, were blessed with three wonderful children: Sarah, who is studying engineering at Texas A&M, and Hannah and Zachary who are in high school. After UT, Roger returned to Dallas where he served as a Dallas Police Officer while earning his ThM in Pastoral Leadership from Dallas Theological Seminary. He later completed his Doctorate at Dallas Theological Seminary while pastoring churches in Kaufman, TX and Des Moines, IA.
Roger has used Macintosh computers since they first came out and is a Dr. Pepper drinker. He loves spending time with his kids and outdoor activities like fishing, hunting, and camping (the real kind where you put a pack on your back and file a plan with the ranger so they know where to begin looking for you when you haven’t returned after a week in the mountains).

Executive Pastor

John Gordon

Email: JohnG@waysidechapel.org
Phone: 210.318.2254

John joined the Wayside Pastoral Team in May 2005. Having attended the University of Texas at Austin, he finished his bachelor of Business Administration (B.BA) degree at the University of North Texas in 1977. John spent the next 28 years as a multi-unit franchisee of a major restaurant chain. He also has 28 years experience leading youth ministries. John has served as both a deacon and elder and was ordained in 1999. He completed a Master of Arts in Biblical Studies (M.A.BS) Degree at Dallas Theological Seminary in 2006. John and Kathy have been married since 1977. The following year, they moved to San Antonio where they raised their four children, Katie, Christen, Susanna, and Johnny.

Email:JohnG@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2254

Associate Pastor

Walt McCord

Email: WaltM@waysidechapel.org
Phone: 210.318.2254

Born and raised in rural northern Pennsylvania, Walt has been involved in pastoral ministry and Bible teaching over the past 35 years. His formal education includes a B.S. in Education from Pennsylvania State University, a B.S. in Bible from Philadelphia College of Bible, an M.A. in Biblical Studies and Th.M. in Bible Exposition from Dallas Theological Seminary, and an M.A. in Organizational Leadership from Indiana Wesleyan University.

Walt has a strong desire to train the next generation of disciples. He is passionate for the consistent application of Biblical truths in teaching and leadership. It is his heart’s desire to bear fruit in an honest, vital walk with the Lord and to grow in the knowledge and love for His Word. He lives to glorify the Lord by seeing individuals come to saving faith and deepen their relationship with God.

Walt was an Associate Professor of Bible at Moody Theological Seminary in Chicago, IL before their move to San Antonio in April 2015. He enjoys teaching God’s Word in the land of Israel and has led over 25 trips. Walt and Brenda have been married since 1982. They have raised three sons, have added two daughters-in-law, and enjoy their time spent with seven grandchildren.

Stone Oak Campus Pastor

Will Davis

Email: WillD@waysidechapel.org
Phone: 210.318.3353

Will is so thankful to pastor and shepherd God’s people at our Stone Oak campus. Will was born and raised in San Antonio. It was during his freshman year in college at Texas State that Will placed his faith in Christ alone. He spent his summers in college working at a Christian sports camp in Marble Falls. It was there that Will met his wife, Cara, and felt the call to full-time ministry. Will and Cara were married in 2000.

After graduating from Dallas Theological Seminary in 2004, Will served as a pastor at a church in Grand Prairie for eight years. Cara was raised on a farm in Clifton and attended Texas A&M. Will and Cara have been blessed with five children: Jack, Josie, Kate, Sam, and Mary Grace. Will and Cara love dating one another, serving together in marriage ministry, and enjoying the beauty of God’s creation with their family. They also love watching their favorite sports teams together: Texas A&M football and the Spurs.

Facilities Staff

Armando Sanchez

Phone:210.318.2231

Administrative Assistant for Student Ministries

Barbara Bair

Email:BarbaraB@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2246

Executive Assistant

Becky Sugg

Email:BeckyS@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2254

Director of Children's Ministries

Belva Stringer

Email:BelvaS@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2228

Director of Media - Stone Oak

Ben Strizu

Email:BenS@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2300

Facilities Staff

Bobby Cubillos

Phone:210.318.2231

Director of Women's Ministries

Brenda McCord

Email: BrendaM@waysidechapel.org
Phone: 210.318.2236

Brenda enjoys spending time with women and listening to their personal stories of God’s redemptive grace. She believes each of us has value in God’s eyes, and it is important to identify our God-given abilities and spiritual gifts. Brenda’s desire is to equip and encourage women in their daily walks with the Lord. She is married to Walt, mother of three adult sons, blessed to have two daughters-in-law, and adores their five grandchildren. One of her favorite ways to spend time with God is to go for a long run. She enjoys reading historical fiction books and writing in her journal.

Director of Facilities

Britt Jenkins

Email:BrittJ@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2231

Director of College & Stone Oak Student Ministries

Cameron Contrestano

Email:CameronC@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.3350

Nursery Supervisor

Christy Culli

Email:ChristyC@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2230

Director of Communications

Heather Stagg

Email:HeatherS@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2250

Pastor of Missions & Single Adult Ministries

Jason Uptmore

Email: JasonU@waysidechapel.org
Phone: 210.318.2238

Jason is married to his high school sweetheart Rachel and they are blessed and grateful to raise two little girls, Avery and Audrey. Jason is a proud Fighting Texas Aggie, as he and his wife graduated from Texas A&M University in 2009, where he received his B.A. in Communication. In August 2019, Jason earned an M.A. in Christian Leadership from Dallas Theological Seminary. Prior to his transition to Wayside Chapel, Jason taught and coached at the public-school level, while pioneering and leading a college ministry at UTSA. Jason has a heart for missions and discipleship and has a passion for preaching God’s Word. In his spare time, Jason loves spending time with his family, watching Aggie football and Spurs basketball, playing sports, barbecuing on the grill, fishing at the coast, and duck hunting at the ranch.

Director of Media

Jon Jerde

Email:JonJ@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2222

Associate Director of Worship

Jose Irizarry

Email:JoseI@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2243

Coordinator of Worship & Media

Karen Gonzales

Email:KarenG@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2248

Receptionist

Kathy Potter

Email:KathyP@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.344.1203

Director of Finance

Kevin Hammond

Email:KevinH@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2247

Preschool Supervisor

Kim Poupart

Email:KimP@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2227

Administrative Assistant for Men's Connect, & Adult Ministries

Laurie McMillen

Email:LaurieM@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2245

Director of 55 Plus, Agape, & AMEN Ministries

Lynn Hamilton

Email:LynnH@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2253

Administrative Assistant for Missions, Women, & Young Adult Ministries

Maggie McCasland

Email:MaggieM@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2244

Elementary Supervisor

Marianna Gardea

Email:MariannaG@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2226

Director of Children's Ministries - Stone Oak

Michelle Jenkins

Email:MichelleJ@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.3351

Administrative Assistant for Children's Ministries

Ora Linville

Email:OraL@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2229

Pastor of Middle School Ministries

Ronald Long

Email:RonaldL@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2241

Director of Worship & Arts

Ryan Fonseca

Email:RyanF@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2242

Foodservice Coordinator

Shelly Lee

Email:Foodservice@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2223

Pastor of Men's Ministries, Connect, & Leadership Development

Stephen Lay

Email: StephenL@waysidechapel.org
Phone: 210.318.2239

Stephen, a native of Tennessee and graduate of the University of Tennessee (Go Vols!) spent eight years developing commercial and residential real estate prior to entering Dallas Theological Seminary where he obtained a Th.M. in Pastoral Leadership. His business experience has played an important role in his approach to ministry, especially with men.

Stephen has served every life stage in Adult Ministries and has a passion for reproducing discipleship, leadership development, and teaching God’s Word. Stephen has been impacted by the personal investment of others and believes deeply in “equipping the saints for the work of ministry.”

Stephen is married to Melody, a certified Optometric Vision Therapist, who helps correct vision related eye issues in children and adults. Stephen enjoys biking, basketball, college football, and almost anything aerobic. He loves to cook, date Melody, and spend time with his four sons; Matthew, Andrew, Gregory, and JP.

Pastor of High School Ministries

Tim Nowell

Emaile:TimN@waysidechapel.org

Phone:210.318.2240